We are governed by the ABS Board of Directors

This is a voluntary board comprised of community leaders, business people, educators, and parents committed to the success of our school and its mission. The Board of Directors convenes a monthly meeting on the second Tuesday of each month at 5:45 pm at the school. Board meetings are open to the public. 


Board of Directors

Executive Committee 2022-23:

Larry Barron ("L.B. the Poet"), Chair 
Spoken Word Artist, Community Organizer, Author, Educator, and Entrepreneur

Ellen Heck, Immediate Past Chair
Studio Artist

Shannon Meares, Vice-Chair
Attorney, National Labor Relations Board

Asher Ellis, Finance Chair
Business Banker, First Citizens Bank

Tomisha Gladman, Secretary
NC Certified Paralegal, Allman Spry Davis Leggett & Crumpler, P.A.

Board Members:

Kyle Barnes
HanesBrands, Business Finance

Endia Beal
Studio Artist

Joy Blaser
Database Administrator and Photographer

Chanita Coulter
Educator, Reflective Pages

David Ford
Reporter/Producer, 88.5 WFDD

Maya Gilliam
Business Owner, Hempress Farms

Brenda Kennedy
Associate Professor of Education, Winston-Salem State University

Jay Kumar
Civil Engineer

Michelle Lawrence
History Teacher, Salem Academy

Tonya Monteiro
Relationship Director, Love Out Loud

Dani Parker-Moore
Assistant Professor of Education, Wake Forest University

Kimberly Pemberton
Associate Professor of Elementary Education, Winston-Salem State University

Elizabeth Repetti
Attorney, Bell Davis Pitt

April Ruffin-Adams
Visiting Asst. Professor, African American Studies, UNCG

Letitia Wall
Vice Chancellor and Chief of Staff, Winston-Salem State University

Non-Voting Board Members
ABS Principal – Robin Hollis
Parent Council Representative – Katherine White and Debbie Mason
School Leadership Team Representative – Paige Raper